Digital Hybrid Lab Week #8 Blog

After completely the DAW project, my group has switched over to the Audio Interface Project in the Build Your Chops station. I am very excited for this rotation, because I feel like this project is especially applicable to my future as a music educator. One of the things that we are required to learn and master is wrapping xlr cords correctly. I can remember back in high school with my a cappella group, we would use handheld microphones, all with long cords attached. Every day after rehearsal it was an absolute tedious process to wrap the long cords, use the twisty ties to secure them, and disassemble everything else. We were told that we needed to take cautious care of the expensive equipment, but never was informed on how to properly wrap the cords, place them properly together, etc. I found this article posted in a blog by “The Black and Blue,” who broke down not only how to properly take care of equipment, but WHY. The three main reasons that they touched and elaborated on were safety, speed, and storage; the safety of coiling vs not coiling, the pros of wrapping them securely and properly, and the ease that it will be to store the cords back to together after using them. This article, along with the project, are tools so beneficial for me and my future classroom, because of how frequently I will could be using this type of equipment. Unlike my high school experience with cords and microphones, I want to be able to demonstrate and teach my students how to properly take care of our equipment, so it’ll last for a long time, and we can overall appreciate the music we get to make with them!

http://www.theblackandblue.com/2011/06/20/wrap-cable-over-under/

Whitney

 

Leave a Reply

